About CHC


Presented by the Calaveras Heritage Council

CalaverasHistory.org has been compiled and continues to be augmented by historians, archeologists, researchers and writers. This site offers the most authoritative and comprehensive gold mine of historical information for historians, genealogists, residents and anyone with an interest in Calaveras County.

Something to add?

We welcome submissions from the public! Whether you have photographs, pieces of information, detailed family histories or anything else of historical interest related to the county, CalaverasHistory.org is the place on the Internet to bring what you have to light. Please submit any of the above, or contact us about them, through our handy online form.


About the Calaveras Heritage Council

The Calaveras Heritage Council was founded in 1976 to manage the Calaveras County Archives. It is a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization governed by a Board of  Directors consisting of five members.

Mission Statement: The Calaveras Heritage Council is dedicated to the enhancement of the Calaveras County Archives and the protection and promotion of the historic assets of Calaveras County.


  • Support for the Calaveras County Archives.

  • Assisted in the publication of three books on Calaveras County by Arcadia Press (see below).

  • Established and maintains the web site www.calaverashistory.org which provides histories of Calaveras people, places, and events to the public.

2012 Board of Directors: Tad Folendorf (President), Judith Marvin (Vice-President), Julia Costello, Claudia Shafer.

Contact: Calaveras Heritage Council, PO Box 836, Altaville, CA 95221. By email through our Contact form.

Members of the Council have recently published several books on local history which can be ordered from Arcadia Publishing:

Around Murphys by Judith Marvin

Around Murphys, by Judith Marvin (2005)

Northern Calaveras County, by Judith Marvin, Julia Costello, and Salvatore Manna (2007)

Angels Camp and Copperopolis, by Judith Marvin, Julia Costello, and Salvatore Manna (2009)